MOT Check (class IV, V and VII)

All motor vehicles in the UK must undergo a regular Ministry of Transport (MOT) test to ensure the vehicle is roadworthy. Many vehicles only require an MOT once they reach three years old but must still be roadworthy. There are different tests for different classes of road vehicle.

The UK has over 20,000 approved MOT testing stations working to keep cars on the road safely, all of which must display the blue and white ‘three triangles’ logo (shown left) to show they are a registered and approved testing station and approved to work on your vehicle.

It is an offence to drive an unroadworthy vehicle on the public highway except during the trip to/from a pre-arranged MOT test or to/from a place of repair where any faults are to be repaired. A valid MOT certificate is an indication that the vehicle is safe to use, and your insurance may be invalid if you use a car that doesn’t have one.

What does the MOT cover?

The MOT Test is designed to examine your vehicle and ensure it is safe to drive. During the test, the following areas and aspects of your vehicle will be checked:

  • Body & Structure Ensure the body and general structure are free from excessive corrosion or damage in specific areas and there are no sharp edges likely to cause injury.
  • Fuel System Ensure there are no leaks and that the fuel cap fastens and seals securely. The fuel cap will need to be opened so be sure the key is available.
  • Exhaust Emissions Check that the vehicle meets the requirements for exhaust emissions, dependant on the age and fuel type of the vehicle.
  • Exhaust System Ensure that the system is secure, complete and without serious leaks and that it silences effectively.
  • Seat Belts All belts installed are checked for type, condition, operation and security. All compulsory seat belts must be in place.
  • Seats The front seats are secure. Front and rear backseats can be secured in the upright position.
  • Doors Doors must latch securely in closed position. Front doors should open from inside and outside the vehicle. Rear doors may need to be opened to gain access to testable items.
  • Mirrors The minimum numbers are on the vehicle, their condition and security.
  • Load Security Boot or tailgate can be secured in the closed position.
  • Brakes Their condition, operation and performance (efficiency test). Note the removal of the road wheels is not part of the test.
  • Tyres Excludes spares. Condition, security, size, type and tread depth.
  • Number Plates Check the condition, security, and that characters correctly formed and spaced.
  • Lights Their condition, operation and security. Headlamps for aim.
  • Bonnet Securely latches in the closed position.
  • Washers & Wipers Operate to give the driver a clear view ahead.
  • Wind Screen Its condition and the driver’s view of the road.
  • Horn Operates correctly and is of a suitable type.
  • Suspension and Steering Are of a satisfactory condition and operation.
  • VIN (Vehicle Identification Number) Is on vehicles first used on or after 1 August 1980. Not more than one different VIN is displayed except on multistage build vehicles.

Class 4, 5 and 7 MOTs

We want to make the experience of getting your vehicle MOT’d as simple as possible. Our experience tells us that all of the following are important:

  • Appointments not always necessary (just phone us).
  • While you wait service (Tea / Coffee provided).
  • Automated Test Lane.
  • Print outs for your Brake Test & Emissions.
  • Advice and cost of repairs before any work is carried out.
  • No retest fee if we undertake the required work.
  • Easy 15 minute walk to the centre of Penrith.
  • Failures fixed and passed usually the same day.

Call Mary-Anne or Andy 01768 867513